My Rants: Perfectly Natural

I’m gonna start this post with a (fictional) story that is a little (little?) strange probably won’t make much sense at all, but trust me; I have a point.

As we gazed into each others eyes, the whistling wind began to die down, the leaves paused their dance and the birds made no sound. Nature itself seemed to hush for us as if creating a spotlight for us. If nature could accept us, why couldn’t others?
Darren stretched his arm up and cupped my cheek with his palm.
“Lilia…” He whispered, his silky voice echos in my mind. I loved it when he called my name.
“Darren…”
Suddenly, he leaned forward and, as if there was an invisible cord named desire between us, tugging at our lips, I closed my eyes and leaned forward also until our lips lightly brushed.
When my eyes fluttered open, I caught sight of two women in the park, shooting us disapproving glares. I gently pushed Darren away.
“What’s wrong?” He asked.
“We can’t kiss…” I said softly, my gaze fell back down to my shoes. ” Not here… Not in public…”
Darren, noticing my sudden discomfort, looked around and spotted the two ladies. He let out a big sigh. “I don’t understand.” He said quietly, calmly, yet his eyes portrayed anger and annoyance. “I don’t understand what’s so wrong about a guy and a girl being together…”
“It’s not normal…” I answered him without looking up. “It’s weird, disgusting and unnatural.” I was surprised at the bitterness on my tongue as I spat those words out.
“It is really?” He challenged. “Is it really so weird? Is it really so disgusting and unnatural? We’re humans and we love each other. What’s wrong with that? How does that make us different, Lilia?”

And I’ll stop there. Did you enjoy the story? You probably didn’t ’cause it made no sense, but do you see my point?
I bet if I showed this story to someone, they’d probably be like “Aww… That’s so not fair!” But if I changed Lilia into… let’s say… Luke, suddenly people think, well it is kinda weird and it is kinda unnatural and maybe a bit disgusting.

Apart from the fact they have a different preference, how are homosexuals any different from heterosexuals? Why do people get bullied or disowned just for following their heart? A girl in one of my classes wrote a speech, podcast article thing about this topic and it mentioned that in the past, homosexuality was a crime and people got arrested or something (my stupid fudged-up memory won’t let me remember…). I personally thought it was stupid, not just because loving someone shouldn’t be a crime, but also because the police should use their time to chase down murders and thieves rather that people who haven’t committed any real crimes.

I remember a conversation I had with Grace and this other girl and somehow the topic switched to gay people. The girl told me how she didn’t like homosexuality because it’s ‘weird’, ‘not normal’ and ‘not natural’.

Weird? Like Darren said- two humans in love. Not weird.
Not normal? What is ‘normal’ anyway. Who decides what’s ‘normal’ anyway? The meaning of normal is whatever the society decides is normal.
Here’s a lame example:
In England it’s normal to spell colour with a ‘u’ whereas in America, it’s normal to spell it without one. So which one is not normal?
To be quite honest, no one is the same so that means being different is normal. See the point I’m making?
Not natural? Don’t get me started. I’m pretty sure there are more than a couple of homosexuals in the world and it’s not exactly a new thing, is it? It is a part of nature so doesn’t that make it natural? Fun fact: did you know that there is some homosexual activity within some animal species? I’m not lying; it’s true.

It just pains me that people discriminate against people not only because of their age, race, gender, sexual orientation etc. but I don’t blame people because it’s not easy for human to accept things that go against what they’re used to and it is very hard to change the strong believes that are so deeply rooted in our minds.

Still, we shouldn’t use this as an excuse. We should look beyond labels such as gay or lesbian because the labels don’t define people– personalities do.

~EpicCupcake signing out.

Leave a reply please!

